Highways UK 2019 Starts in

6/7 November 2019, NEC, Birmingham

Advisory Board

The Highways UK advisory board is designed to be a microcosm of the event itself. It comprises a combination of luminaries, appropriate institutions and associations and commercial partners. Its' role is to help shape the content and personality of the event. The board is chaired by former Transport Minister and industry grandee Steve Norris


Steve Norris

Co Chair


Derek Turner

Co Chair


Daniel Ruiz



Martin Tugwell

England's Economic Heartland


Sue Sharland

Executive Vice President, CIHT



Sue is currently a Non-Executive Director for a number of organisations, including the Transport Systems Catapult and the Vehicle Certification Agency of the Department for Transport. She is the former Chief Executive of both TRL Limited and the Transport Research Foundation, positions she held from 2001 - 2013.

She was previously a senior manager within AEA Technology plc, where she led a number of areas including consultancy, risk management and engineering software in a wide range of industries including energy, aviation and oil and gas.

Sue started her career as a mathematical modeller, working in a number of fields including waste management and corrosion of metals.

Sue has been a Fellow of CIHT since 2001 and joined Council in 2007. She initially served on the Transport Policy Board and she was appointed Chair in 2008. She has also chaired the Membership and Skills Strategy Boards.

Warren Bradley

Mott MacDonald


Adam Simmons

Highways England


Anthony Smith

Transport Focus


Chris Jackson

Burges Salmon


Brian Fitzpatrick

Fitzpatrick Advisory


Mark Garrity



Malcolm Simms



Karla Jakeman

Innovate UK


Darren Capes

Transport Technology Form


Alan Taggart



Rupert Clubb

East Sussex County Council


David Hytch

Transport Consultant


Michael Steinberg



Ryan Hood



Andy Rowley



Charlie Henderson

PA Consulting


Clare Green

Connected Places Catapult


Rachel Gittens

Womens Engineering Society


Richard Stuart



George Lee



Alastair McMahon



Sonya Veerasamy

Women in Transport


Book Now

Gold Partners

Silver Partners

Sustainability Partner

Principal Supporters


Media Partners